Virat Kohli, Ashish Nehra named in team of the tournament; full list of players

Virat Kohli, the man of the tournament in the ICC World T20 2016, has been named skipper of the World XI that was named by the ICC at the conclusion of the World Twenty20. Ashish Nehra is the second Indian player to find a berth.

“The teams [both men’s and women’s] were chosen by a select group of former cricket stars and highly respected commentators who were given the task of picking a balanced side for all conditions on the basis of performances in the tournament. Statistics were used but were not the sole basis for selections,” read the ICC statement.

There was no place for Team India captain MS Dhoni. The list also contains four players from England, two players from West Indies and one each from Australia, Bangladesh, New Zealand and South Africa.

The teams were chosen by a select group of former cricket stars and highly respected commentators like Nasser Hussain, Ian Bishop and Sanjay Manjrekar.

“The experts had an extremely difficult task to select the men’s and women’s squads from around 400 cricketers who represented the 26 teams, thanks to outstanding performances by all the players at this hugely successful event,” ICC chairman Geoff Allardice said.”In the end, I believe the selectors have chosen two very well balanced sides which are capable of beating any opposition under any conditions.”

Meanwhile, there was no India Women player in the official Women’s World T20 team of the competition.

Men: Jason Roy (England), Quinton de Kock (South Africa, wicketkeeper), Virat Kohli (India, captain), Joe Root (England), Jos Buttler (England), Shane Watson (Australia), Andre Russell (West Indies), Mitchell Santner (New Zealand), David Willey (England), Samuel Badree (West Indies), Ashish Nehra (India). 12th man: Mustafizur Rahman (Bangladesh)
Women: Suzie Bates (New Zealand), Charlotte Edwards (England), Meg Lanning (Australia), Stafanie Taylor (West Indies, captain), Sophie Devine (New Zealand), Rachel Priest (New Zealand, wicketkeeper), Deandra Dottin (West Indies), Megan Schutt (Australia), Sune Luus (South Africa), Leigh Kasperek (New Zealand), Anya Shrubsole (England). 12th player: Anam Amin (Pakistan)

Congratulations to Virat Kohli and Ashish Nehra!!

Share Post