Mumbai Indians win Inaugural Session of WPL 2023

The Harmanpreet Kaur-led Mumbai Indians defeated the Delhi Capitals in the final over at the Brabourne Stadium in Mumbai on Sunday night, winning the game and the title of the first Women’s Premier League. Before Nat Sciver-Brunt scored the winning boundary with only three balls remaining, they controlled both divisions. In the midst of the stadium’s fireworks, the Mumbai Indians erupted into joyous celebrations with players running onto the field. The one that gained the most attention, though, was Rohit Sharma’s candid response to Harmanpreet and Co.’s historic victory, as well as his team’s gold-medal act.

Issy Wong and Hayley Matthews helped Mumbai restrict Delhi Capitals, the first side to go to the final after topping the league table, to 131 for nine as they combined to take six wickets between them. Meg Lanning, the team’s captain, topped the team in scoring with a 29-ball 35 that helped her win the Orange Cap, but she struggled to find reliable support during her trip.

Sciver-Brunt, Harmanpreet, and Matthews, three Mumbai players, ended among the WPL’s top five run scorers, and Yastika Bhatia also won the emerging player award and was one of the 13 players to surpass the 200-run threshold. 

Share Post